jonathanball logo website trade publisher 2018




By surname

All Titles by Antony Lentin
Antony Lentin
Antony Lentin, formerly a Professor of History at The Open University, is a senior member of Wolfson College, Cambridge, and the author of Guilt at Versailles: Lloyd George and the Pre-History of Appeasement (1985), Lloyd George and the Lost Peace: From Versailles to Hitler (2001) and The Last Political Law Lord: Lord Summer 1859 – 1934 (2009).

A Barrister and former law tutor, he has contributed entries on lawyers, including Lords Sumner, Bowen, Loreburn, Reading and Maugham, to the Oxford Dictionary of National Biography (2004). In September 2010 Anton Lentin wrote Jan Smuts: A Man of Courage and Vision, a book which reasseses the life of one of South Africa’s great leaders. Professor Lentin’s other main interest is eighteenth-century Russia, on which he has published widely. He is a Fellow of the Royal Historical Society.


Reviews, News & Interviews:
  • David Pike reviews Jan Smuts: Man of Courage and Vision