jonathanball_logo



ecommerce_customers

Subscribe-to-our-newsletter

 


New Releases


weg
across-boundaries-00
eight-zulu-kings
pieces-of-her-(327-x-500)
the-rules-of-seeing
hans-nazi's
louis-botha
fear-9781471181290
a-spark-of-light-by-jodi
killer-you-know
oor-grense-00
lethal-white-robert-galbaraith
other-woman
believe-me
go-braai-time
grist-mill-road
the-survivors
ta-da

Man Booker 2018The 2018 Man Booker Prize Shortlist has been announced and we are proud to represent two of the six shortlisted titles:

 

Milkman by Anna Burns (Faber & Faber) | PB | 9780571338757

In this unnamed city, to be interesting is dangerous. Middle sister, our protagonist, is busy attempting to keep her mother from discovering her maybe-boyfriend and to keep everyone in the dark about her encounter with Milkman. But when first brother-in-law sniffs out her struggle, and rumours start to swell, middle sister becomes ‘interesting’. The last thing she ever wanted to be. To be interesting is to be noticed and to be noticed is dangerous… Milkman is a tale of gossip and hearsay, silence and deliberate deafness. It is the story of inaction with enormous consequences.

Biography

Anna Burns was born in Belfast, Northern Ireland, 1962. She is the author of two novels, No Bones and Little Constructions, and of the novella, Mostly Hero. In 2001 she won the Winifred Holtby Memorial Prize, and was shortlisted for the 2002 Orange Prize for Fiction. She lives in East Sussex, England.

 

Washington Black by Esi Edugyan (Serpent’s Tail) | TPB | 9781781258972

Escape is only the beginning. From the brutal cane plantations of Barbados to the icy wastes of the Canadian Arctic, from the mud-filled streets of London to the eerie deserts of Morocco, Washington Black is the tale – inspired by a true story – of a world destroyed and the search to make it whole again. When two English brothers take the helm of a Barbados sugar plantation, Washington Black – an eleven year-old field slave – finds himself selected as personal servant to one of these men. The eccentric Christopher ‘Titch’ Wilde is a naturalist, explorer, scientist, inventor and abolitionist, whose single-minded pursuit of the perfect aerial machine mystifies all around him. Titch’s idealistic plans are soon shattered and Washington finds himself in mortal danger. They escape the island together, but then Titch disappears and Washington must make his way alone, following the promise of freedom further than he ever dreamed possible.

Biography

Esi Edugyan was born in Calgary, Canada, in 1977. Her novel Half Blood Blues won the Scotiabank Giller Prize, was shortlisted for the Man Booker Prize, and was a finalist for the Governor-General's Literary Award, the Rogers Writers' Trust Prize and the Orange Prize. She lives in Victoria, British Columbia.

Man Booker Nominees 2018

The winner will be announced on Tuesday 16 October


Louis-Botha-A-Man-Apart 00In A Man Apart Richard Steyn once again brings to life a South African icon. Louis Botha was the first Prime Minister of the Union of South Africa, a union he did much to create in the decade after the devastation of the Anglo-Boer War.

 

During the war Botha was a brilliant young Boer general who through his battlefield strategy won significant victories over the British in the early stages of the war. When the weight of British arms overhelmed the Boers, Botha along with Smuts did much to encourage peace between English and Afrikaner and led the country to Union in 1910 and dominion status.

 

Botha was a big-hearted and generous man who showed magnanimity in his dealings with all, including former enemies. He led the South African troops to victory and the capture of German South West Africa – prior to this he had to put down a revolt of pro-German Afrikaners.

 

At the Peace of Versailles, representing South Africa, he pleaded unsuccessfully for magnanimity towards the Germans. Botha was a globally respected figure – he and Smuts effectively operated as a double act in South Africa and on the international stage before Botha’s untimely death in August 1919 at only 57. In A Man Apart this tragically short life is illuminated in full.

 

Buy Louis Botha: A Man Apart here:

Loot

Exclusive Books

Graffiti Boeke


The-Rules-of-Seeing 00See the world in a different way with the most uplifting, unforgettable and gripping novel of 2018

 

Nova is 32 years old and she is about to see the world for the very first time.

 

Jillian Safinova, Nova to her friends, can do many things. She can speak five languages. She can always find a silver lining. And she can even tell when someone is lying just from the sound of their voice.

 

But there's one thing Nova can't do. She can't see.

 

When her brother convinces her to have an operation that will restore her sight, Nova wakes up to a world she no longer understands. Until she meets Kate.

 

As Kate comes into focus, her past threatens to throw them into a different kind of darkness. Can they each learn to see the world in a different … and open their eyes to the lives they could have been living all along?

 

Buy The Rules of Seeing here:

Loot

Exclusive Books

Raru


The-Survivors 00‘Directly I saw him, I knew he had to die.’

 

Germany, 1945. Klara Janowska and her daughter Alicja have walked for weeks to get to Graufeld Displaced Persons camp.

In the cramped, dirty, dangerous conditions they, along with 3,200 others, are the lucky ones. They have survived and will do anything to find a way back home.


But when Klara recognises a man in the camp from her past, a deadly game of cat and mouse begins.

 

He knows exactly what she did during the war to save her daughter.
She knows his real identity.

 

What will be the price of silence? And will either make it out of the camp alive?

An unforgettably powerful, epic story of love, loss and the long shadow of war, perfect for readers of Santa Montefiore and Victoria Hislop.

 

Buy The Survivors here:

Loot

Exclusive Books

Graffiti Boeke


 

Foodies-of-South-AfricaLocal is extra lekker in this cookbook that brings you mouth-watering recipes like Pap in a Pumpkin, Cheesy Braai Bombs, A-maize-ing Chakalaka Dippers, Croque Meneer and Steri Stumpie Hot Chocolate.

 

Foodies of South Africa is synonymous with epic recipes, wicked combos, extra cheesy delights and dripping sauces.

 

With over 730 000 followers on Facebook, including a few local celebrities like Lorna Maseko and Dineo Ranaka, Foodies of South Africa’s videos have gone viral. In the last year their videos got more shares than all of the top 50 brands in the country combined.

 

Every week 4 million of their fans view their delicious recipes – in a good week this figure goes up to 10 million. Their fans also love to comment on and share the recipes and even upload photos when they have made the dishes. The book will also include several fan comments from Facebook.

 

To the team from Foodies of SA food is much more than just food. It is also an intimate and intricate part of one’s life story, it is belonging, heritage, culture . . . and connection.

 

This is a book that is bound to become a much-consulted, dog-eared, flour-dusted, timeworn companion.

 

Buy Foodies of SA here:

Loot

Exclusive Books

Takealot

Graffit Boeke

Raru


ebooks_icon  

ebooks

To buy all our ebooks, click here.

 

upcoming_events_icon  

Upcoming Events

For details of upcoming events from our authors, click here.


 

top_5_best_icon   

Top 5 bestsellers

 

 

 

Manage Your Money like a F*cking Grown up

Sam Beckbessinger

 

How to Steal a City

Crispian Olver

 

Enemy of the People

Adriaan Basson & Pieter Du Toit

 

Death and Taxes

Johann van Loggerenberg

 

Dankie Generaal

Nico Moolman


 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 


 


 

 

 

 


 


 


 

 

 

 


 

 


 

 

 

 


 

 

 

 

search

Browse our books


double underline

Coming Soon

 

 9781499861464_Murder_Mile.jpg9780008148898_Walking_Shadows.jpg9780008300647_VOX.jpg9780297609414_The_Book_of_Humans.jpg9781472249418_No_Mercy.jpg


double underline