fbpx

JBP full logo black

icon ecomm1 icon newsletter1 icon fb1 icon twitter1 icon instagram1

The Tattooist of Auschwitz

Category: Children's Books
ISBN:   9781471408496
Publisher:  Jonathan Ball Publishers
On sale: May 2019
List price: R234
Format: Paperback
eBook ISBN

The Tattooist of Auschwitz: Young Adult edition


Heather Morris


The incredible bestselling true story. For readers of The Boy in the Striped Pyjamas and The Diary of Anne Frank

Heart-breaking – a tale of love and survival amidst the horrors of Auschwitz
Human – the real story behind one of the most potent symbols of the Holocaust – the blue numbers tattooed on prisoners' arms
Inspirational – the very best of humanity in the very worst of circumstances
Unforgettable – a story untold for over seventy years is finally shared
Life-affirming – one man's determination to survive and live a full life with the woman he loved
Fully verified – Lale Sokolov's background and story has been fact-checked against all available documentary evidence

The Story
The Tattooist of Auschwitz is based on the true story of Lale and Gita Sokolov, two Slovakian Jews who survived Auschwitz. When Lale, given the job of tattooing the prisoners, saw Gita waiting in line, it was love at first sight. In that moment he determined to keep them both alive. This is a story of hope and of courage.


Born in New Zealand, Heather Morris lives and works in Melbourne, Australia. In 2003, she met Lale Sokolov, a meeting that changed both their lives. As their friendship grew, he entrusted her with the task of telling the world the innermost details of his life during the Holocaust.

BUY ONLINE:

Takealot reseller loot EB logo bargain books logo 165px RW.JPG
Raru Graffiti Logo.PNG Protea Balakudu Varsgedruk logo small