fbpx

JBP full logo black

icon ecomm1 icon newsletter1 icon fb1 icon twitter1 icon instagram1

Parwana


Durkhanai Ayubi


'...Parwana is more than an elegy, it is a celebration: the recipes in it bulge with colour and flavour and life. It's as rewarding to cook from as to read, and there is so much I do want to cook.'Nigella Lawson

Recipes and stories from an Afghan kitchen, perfect for fans of Sabrina Gayour and Yotam Ottolenghi.

Interwoven with traditional Afghan recipes is one family's story of a region long afflicted by war, but with much more at its heart. Author Durkhanai Ayubi's parents, Zelmai and Farida Ayubi, fled Afghanistan with their young children in 1985, at the height of the Cold War.


When their family-run restaurant Parwana opened its doors in Adelaide in 2009, their vision was to share with the world their family memories through the delights of Afghan cuisine, infused with Afghanistan's rich historical culture and traditions of generosity and hospitality, to offer a more complete picture of the country they had left behind.

These fragrant and flavourful recipes have been in the family for generations and include rice dishes, dumplings, curries, meats, Afghan pastas, chutneys and pickles, soups and breads, drinks and desserts. Some are everyday meals, some are celebratory special dishes. Each has a story to tell.

Durkhanai Ayubi is involved with the day-to-day responsibilities of the family-run eating places in Adelaide - Parwana and Kutchi Deli Parwana. She also writes freelance opinion-editorial pieces for a range of newspapers and websites, and is undertaking a Fellowship for Social Equity funded by the Atlantic Institute in New York.

Category:  Food & drink
ISBN:  9781911632238
Publisher:  Murdoch Books
On sale:  November 2020
List price:  R460 
Format:  Hardcover
eBook ISBN 
BUY ONLINE:
Takealot reseller loot
EB logo Protea
 RW.JPG Balakudu 
 Graffiti Logo.PNG Raru