jonathanball logo website trade publisher 2018



ecommerce_customers

Subscribe-to-our-newsletter

 


Where the Crawdads Sing


Email

Lethal White Robert Galbaraith
Buy Where the Crawdads Sing here:

Loot

Exclusive Books

Raru

Reader's Warehouse

 

 

Where the Crawdads Sing

Delia Owens


ISBN 9781472154651


A Reese Witherspoon x Hello Sunshine Book Club Pick

For years, rumors of the "Marsh Girl" have haunted Barkley Cove, a quiet town on the North Carolina coast. So in late 1969, when handsome Chase Andrews is found dead, the locals immediately suspect Kya Clark, the so-called Marsh Girl. But Kya is not what they say. Sensitive and intelligent, she has survived for years alone in the marsh that she calls home, finding friends in the gulls and lessons in the sand. Then the time comes when she yearns to be touched and loved. When two young men from town become intrigued by her wild beauty, Kya opens herself to a new life - until the unthinkable happens.

Perfect for fans of Barbara Kingsolver and Celeste Ng, Where the Crawdads Sing is at once an exquisite ode to the natural world, a heartbreaking coming-of-age story, and a surprising tale of possible murder. Owens reminds us that we are forever shaped by the children we once were, and that we are all subject to the beautiful and violent secrets that nature keeps.


 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The Author

Delia Owens is the co-author of three internationally bestselling nonfiction books about her life as a wildlife scientist in Africa including Cry of the Kalahari. She has won the John Burroughs Award for Nature Writing and has been published in Nature, The African Journal of Ecology, and many others. She currently lives in Idaho. Where the Crawdads Sing is her first novel.

 

 

 

 

 

 


 

 

Extras

Reviews, News & Interviews:

I can't even express how much I love this book! I didn't want this story to end! Reese Witherspoon

Painfully beautiful. The New York Times Book Review

This lush mystery is perfect for fans of Barbara Kingsolver. Bustle

This novel has a mystery at its core, but it can be read on a variety of levels. There is great nature writing; there is coming of age; and there is literature. Crawdads is a story lovingly told-one that takes its time in developing its characters and setting, and in developing the story. You'll want to relax and take your time as well, and when you're done you will want to talk about it with another reader. Chris Schluep, Amazon Book Review