The One In A Million Boy


The One In A Million Boy by Monica Wood

Buy this book here:

Exclusive Books
Reader's Warehouse

The One-in-a-Million Boy

Monica Wood

ISBN 9781472228369

A one-in-a-million story for anyone who loves to laugh, cry, and think about how extraordinary ordinary life can be. Not to be missed by readers who loved The Unlikely Pilgrimage of Harold Fry, Elizabeth Is Missing or The Shock of The Fall.

Miss Ona Vitkus has - aside from three months in the summer of 1914 - lived unobtrusively, her secrets fiercely protected. The boy, with his passion for world records, changes all that. He is eleven. She is one hundred and four years, one hundred and thirty three days old (they are counting). And he makes her feel like she might be really special after all. Better late than never... Only it's been two weeks now since he last visited, and she's starting to think he's not so different from all the rest.

Then the boy's father comes, for some reason determined to finish his son's good deed. And Ona must show this new stranger that not only are there odd jobs to be done, but a life's ambition to complete . . .



The Author

Monica WoodMonica Wood is an award-winning, bestselling novelist and memoirist. Born in Maine, New England, to an Irish Catholic family, she worked as a guidance counsellor and in a nursing home before becoming a full-time writer. She is also a singer, and travelled the New England circuit singing jazz, country, pop and gospel for many years. She lives in Maine with her husband.










Reviews, News & Interviews:

This is a bittersweet page-turner that celebrates the everyday soul. Sunday Times, South Africa

This is a novel about many things: isolation, community, music, language and friendship. Wood's prose sparkles with lyrical descriptions and sharp observations about people and their motivations. But the over-arching theme running through it all concerns second chances. Even when you're older than a century, life still has the capacity to surprise you.  -The Herald, Scotland UK

The book expands to cover an enormous amount of emotional ground, as Wood treats a large cast of fundamentally decent but struggling characters with a winning mix of sharpness and sympathy...Wood is able to convey the deepest of emotions in a few quietly devastating sentences.  -Readers's Digest, UK