jonathanball logo website trade publisher 2018



ecommerce_customers

Subscribe-to-our-newsletter

 


The Office of Gardens and Ponds


Email

The Office of Gardens and Ponds
Buy The Office of Gardens and Ponds here:

Loot

Exclusive Books

Takealot

Raru

Graffiti Boeke

 

 

The Office of Gardens and Ponds

Didier Decoin and Euan Cameron


ISBN 9780857057594


A mesmerising fable with a difference, set in Japan over 1000 years ago
For readers of Alessandro Baricco’s Silk, Patrick Süskind’s Perfume and Takashi Hiraide’s The Guest Cat.

The village of Shimae is thrown into turmoil when master carp-catcher Katsuro suddenly drowns in the murky waters of the Kusagawa river. Who now will carry the precious cargo of carp to the Imperial Palace and preserve the crucial patronage that everyone in the village depends upon?
Step forward Miyuki, Katsuro’s grief-struck widow and the only remaining person in the village who knows anything about carp. She alone can undertake the long, perilous journey to the Imperial Palace, balancing the heavy baskets of fish on a pole across her shoulders, and ensure her village’s future.
So Miyuki sets off. Along her way she will encounter a host of remarkable characters, from prostitutes and innkeepers, to warlords and priests with evil in mind. She will endure ambushes and disaster, for the villagers are not the only people fixated on the fate of the eight magnificent carp.
But when she reaches the Office of Gardens and Ponds, Miyuki discovers that the trials of her journey are far from over. For in the Imperial City, nothing is quite as it seems, and beneath a veneer of refinement and ritual, there is an impenetrable barrier of politics and snobbery that Miyuki must overcome if she is to return to Shimae.

 

 

 

The Author

Didier Decoin was twenty when he published his first book, Le Procès à l’amour. It was followed by some twenty other titles, including Abraham de Brooklyn and John l’Enfer. He is currently Secretary General of the Académie Goncourt, has been Chairman of the Écrivains de Marine since 2007 and is a member of the Académie de Marine. He spent fourteen years on the writing of The Office of Gardens and Ponds.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 


 

 

Extras

Reviews, News & Interviews:

A delicate spread of impressions, combining adventure and the supernatural. Marie Rogatien, Le Figaro Magazine

A-ma-zing! A novel that sweeps you away. Big-hearted, empathetic - absolutely brilliant. Olivia de Lamberterie, Télématin

A string of enchantments, transforming mud into gold. Pierre Vavasseur, Le Parisien

A total success, the result of no fewer than twelve years' work. Jean-Claude Perrier, Livres Hebdo