jonathanball_logo



ecommerce_customers

Subscribe-to-our-newsletter

 


The Maid’s Room


Email

The Maids room
Buy The Maid’s Room here:

Loot

Exclusive Books

Takealot

 
The Maid’s Room

Fiona Mitchell


ISBN 9781473659575


For readers of The Help and The Invention of Wings, a searing and sweeping debut novel that gives a new and unforgettable perspective on modern day domestic workers.

Set in the blistering heat of Singapore, The Maid’s Room follows the lives of two Filipina maids - sisters Dolly and Tala who are working hard to send money back home, and British ex-pat Jules who has left her job as a midwife to move to Singapore with husband David.

Told with humour, heart-breaking detail about daily life as a maid, and with an exhilarating spirit that is ultimately uplifting, this book will resonate with anyone who has struggled to have their voice heard.

The Author

Fiona-Mitchell This is Fiona Mitchell's first novel. Inspired by the author's own experience of life in Singapore and extensive research, it is an eye-opening novel about life as a maid; a universal issue affecting us all. There are now 230,000 female domestic workers in Singapore and an estimated 53 million people working as domestic helpers across the globe - a quarter of these are afforded no legal rights at all.

 


 

 

 

Extras

Reviews, News & Interviews:

It's informative, but there's a darned good story there too. I was completely tied up in the mystery of which of the employers was writing the blog detailing all the ways you should keep your servant in check and my heart was in my mouth for Tala and Dolly on more than one occasion. It's a book to read and then read again so that you can appreciate all the nuances. The Book Bag

I loved The Maid's Room with its exquisite writing, married with a shocking and powerful story line that had me gripped and moved until the uplifting conclusion. A fascinating read about survival and the strength and resilience of the human heart. Katie Marsh, author of A Life without you and This Beautiful life