jonathanball logo website trade publisher 2018



ecommerce_customers

Subscribe-to-our-newsletter

 


The Beekeeper of Aleppo


Email

The Beekeeper of Aleppo
Buy The Beekeeper of Aleppo here:

Loot

Exclusive Books

Takealot

Reader's warehouse

Balakudu

Protea Boekwinkel

Graffiti Boeke

 

 

The Beekeeper of Aleppo

Christy Lefteri


ISBN 9781785768934


For readers of The Tattooist of Auschwitz, The Kite Runner and The Other Hand - a testament to the human powers of survival.

A BBC RADIO 2 BOOK CLUB CHOICE 2019
In the midst of war, he found love
In the midst of darkness, he found courage
In the midst of tragedy, he found hope

The Beekeeper of Aleppo

What will you find from his story?

Nuri is a beekeeper; his wife, Afra, an artist. They live a simple life, rich in family and friends, in the beautiful Syrian city of Aleppo – until the unthinkable happens. When all they care for is destroyed by war, they are forced to escape.

As Nuri and Afra travel through a broken world, they must confront not only the pain of their own unspeakable loss, but dangers that would overwhelm the bravest of souls. Above all – and perhaps this is the hardest thing they face – they must journey to find each other again.

Moving, powerful, compassionate and beautifully written, The Beekeeper of Aleppo is a testament to the triumph of the human spirit. Told with deceptive simplicity, it is the kind of book that reminds us of the power of storytelling.

 

The Author

Brought up in London, Christy Lefteri is the child of Cypriot refugees. She is a lecturer in creative writing at Brunel University. The Beekeeper of Aleppo was born out of her time working as a volunteer at a Unicef supported refugee centre in Athens.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 


 

 

Extras

Reviews, News & Interviews:

This is a novel of international significance. Courageous, provocative, haunting, it will open our eyes. Heather Morris, author of The Tattooist of Auschwitz

This book dips below the deafening headlines, and tells a true story with subtlety and power. Esther Freud

This compelling tale had me gripped with its compassion, its sensual style and its onward and lively urge for resolution. Daljit Nagra
Christy Lefteri has crafted a beautiful novel, intelligent, thoughtful; and relevant. I'm recommending this book to everyone I care about. So I'm recommending this book to you. Benjamin Zephaniah