jonathanball_logo



ecommerce_customers

Subscribe-to-our-newsletter

 


No, Thanks! I'm Quite Happy Standing!


Email

No Thanks Im Quite Happy Standing by Virginia Ironside

Buy his book here:

Loot
Exclusive Books

 

No, Thanks! I'm Quite Happy Standing!


Virginia Ironside


ISBN 9781782069331

More uproarious tales of growing old disgracefully from beloved agony aunt Virginia Ironside, for fans of Jenny Eclair and Sue Townsend. Marie is turning 69 this year, but there are no signs of her slowing down - she has a new lodger (very into conspiracy theories), an intractable iPhone to wrestle with, and a trip to India to plan! As usual the year brings plenty of challenges as well as opportunities.

Marie is burgled, which sends the street into uproar. Ex-husband David is still around and getting rather too close for comfort. Marie's cat Pouncer is starting to look rather peaky (her conspiracy-theorist lodger is convinced someone is poisoning him), and probably worst of all, it seems Gene is getting too old to want to hang out with his groovy granny any more. Maybe learning to paint graffiti and speak street slang will help win him back?

Full of Virginia Ironside's inimitable wit and featuring plenty of popular characters from this series, this is a hilarious and touching look at getting older from one of Britain's sharpest observers of relationships.

 

The Author

Virginia IronsideVirginia Ironside is a journalist, agony aunt and author, and the creator of the one-woman show Growing Old Disgracefully. She lives in West London and has one son and two grandsons.

 

 

Extras

Reviews, News & Interviews: