jonathanball logo website trade publisher 2018



ecommerce_customers

Subscribe-to-our-newsletter

 


Last Debutante


Email

Last Debutante
Buy this book here:

Loot

Exclusive Books

Takealot

Raru
Last Debutante

Lesly Lokko


ISBN 9781409137665


A captivating family drama about sisters and long-held secrets spanning from the 1930s to the present day, perfect for fans of Downton Abbey.
1936, C halfont Hall, Dorset.
As the dressmaker puts the last pins in her dress, thirteen-year-old Kit is wondering why she has to go through the charade of seeing her sister Lily presented at C ourt. With her waves of auburn hair and her piercing green eyes, Kit knows that her sister's place on the
social scene is guaranteed regardless of her dress, and as the door to a life of parties and eligible young men opens for Lily, Kit must make do with tiptoeing around the gallery of C halfont, eavesdropping on the conversations of the grown-ups.
But the arrival of a German visitor one evening soon sets in motion a chain of events that none of the family could have anticipated. Years later, the aftershock of events will be felt by a new generation . . .
The Author

Lesley Lokko After various careers from cocktail waitress to kibbutz worker, Lesley Lokko trained as an architect, but always dreamt of writing. She lives in Johannesburg.


 

 

 

Extras

Reviews, News & Interviews:

Exciting from start to finish. It's well-written, engaging and fast-paced, with a plot you'll be gripped by ... I couldn't put it down. Daily Mail on An Absolute

Deception

A blockbuster with brains...the ultimate guilty pleasure. Bella on Bitter

Chocolate

A corker of a book! Sheer indulgence. Daily Express on An Absolute