jonathanball logo website trade publisher 2018




Dark Artifices 1 Lady Midnight


Lady Midnight - Cassandra Clare
Buy this book here:


Exclusive Books


Dark Artifices 1 Lady Midnight

Cassandra Clare

ISBN 9781471116636

The Shadow hunters of Los Angeles star in the first novel in Cassandra Clare's newest series, The Dark Artifices, a sequel to the internationally bestselling Mortal Instruments series. Lady Midnight is a Shadow hunter’s novel.

It's been five years since the events of City of Heavenly Fire that brought the Shadow hunters to the brink of oblivion. Emma Carstairs is no longer a child in mourning, but a young woman bent on discovering what killed her parents and avenging her losses.

Together with her parabatai Julian Blackthorn, Emma must learn to trust her head and her heart as she investigates a demonic plot that stretches across Los Angeles, from the Sunset Strip to the enchanted sea that pounds the beaches of Santa Monica. If only her heart didn't lead her in treacherous directions… Making things even more complicated, Julian's brother Mark-who was captured by the faeries five years ago-has been returned as a bargaining chip.

The faeries are desperate to find out who is murdering their kind-and they need the Shadow hunters' help to do it. But time works differently in faerie, so Mark has barely aged and doesn't recognize his family. Can he ever truly return to them? Will the faeries really allow it?

Glitz, glamour’s, and Shadow hunters abound in this heartrending opening to Cassandra Clare's Dark Artifices series.

The Author

cassandra-clareCassandra Clare was born to American parents in Teheran, Iran and spent much of her childhood travelling the world with her family. She lived in France, England and Switzerland before she was ten years old. Since her family moved around so much she found familiarity in books and went everywhere with a book under her arm. She spent her high school years in Los Angeles where she used to write stories to amuse her classmates, including an epic novel called “The Beautiful Cassandra” based on the eponymous Jane Austen short story (and from which she later took her current pen name).

After college, Cassie lived in Los Angeles and New York where she worked at various entertainment magazines and even some rather suspect tabloids. She started working on her YA novel, City of Bones, in 2004, inspired by the urban landscape of Manhattan, her favourite city.

In 2007, the first book in the Mortal Instruments series, City of Bones, introduced the world to Shadow hunters. The Mortal Instruments concluded in 2014, and includes City of Ashes, City of Glass, City of Fallen Angels, City of Lost Souls, and City of Heavenly Fire. She also created a prequel series, inspired by A Tale of Two Cities and set in Victorian London. This series, The Infernal Devices, follows bookworm Tessa Gray as she discovers the London Institute in Clockwork Angel, Clockwork Prince, and Clockwork Princess.

Following the success of the novel, The Mortal Instruments: City of Bones was made into a film in 2013, it’s been ordered to series by ABC Family. And the sequel series to The Mortal Instruments, The Dark Artifices, debuts March 8, 2016 with Lady Midnight, as the Shadow hunters take on Los Angeles.

Other books in the Shadow hunters series include The Bane Chronicles, Tales from the Shadow hunter Academy, and The Shadow hunter’s Codex.





Reviews, News & Interviews: