jonathanball_logo



ecommerce_customers

Subscribe-to-our-newsletter

 


American Gods


Email

American Gods
Buy American Gods here:

Loot

Exclusive Books

Takealot

Raru
American Gods

Neil Gaiman


ISBN 9780755322817


The extraordinary, highly acclaimed novel from storytelling genius Neil Gaiman Perfect for fans of Terry Pratchett and George R.R. Martin, Neil Gaiman's epic American Gods, from the bestselling author of The Ocean at the End of the Lane, is an imaginative masterpiece. 'Gaiman is a treasure-house of story and we are lucky to have him' Stephen King.

After three years in prison, Shadow has served his time. But as the days and hours until his release tick away, he can feel a storm brewing.

Two days before his release date, his wife Laura dies in a mysterious car crash, in adulterous circumstances. Dazed, Shadow travels home, only to encounter the bizarre Mr Wednesday, who claims to be a refugee from a distant war, a former god and the king of America. Together they embark on a very strange journey across the States, along the way solving the murders which have occurred every winter in one small American town.

But the storm is about to break . . .

Disturbing, gripping and profoundly strange, Gaiman's epic novel sees him on the road to the heart of America.

The Author

Neil GaimanNeil Gaiman is the author of over thirty acclaimed books and graphic novels for adults and children, including American Gods, Coraline, the Graveyard Book and his most recent bestselling novel, The Ocean at the end of the lane which was highly acclaimed and won several awards, including being voted Book of the Year in the National Book Awards 2013.

Neil Gaiman's work has been adapted for film, television and radio. He has written scripts for Doctor Who, collaborated with authors and illustrators including Terry Pratchett, Dave McKean and Chris Riddell, and The Sandman is established as one of the classic graphic novels. As George R R Martin says: 'There's no one quite like Neil Gaiman.'

 


 

 

 

Extras

Reviews, News & Interviews:

An imaginative fantasy. The Mail on Sunday

Gaiman wittily fleshes out his conceit... his wit and sense of the marvellous shine through, making American Gods an absolute must for fans of the genre. The Times

Scary, gripping and deeply unsettling, American Gods takes a long hard look into the soul of America. The Western Mail Cardiff