jonathanball logo website trade publisher 2018



ecommerce_customers

Subscribe-to-our-newsletter

 


The Tattooist of Auschwitz: Young Adult edition


Email

The Tattooist of Auschwitz: Young Adult edition
Buy The Tattooist of Auschwitz here:

Loot

Exclusive Books

Takealot

Raru

Graffiti Boeke

 

 

The Tattooist of Auschwitz: Young Adult edition

Heather Morris


ISBN 9781471408496


The incredible bestselling true story. For readers of The Boy in the Striped Pyjamas and The Diary of Anne Frank

Heart-breaking – a tale of love and survival amidst the horrors of Auschwitz
Human – the real story behind one of the most potent symbols of the Holocaust – the blue numbers tattooed on prisoners' arms
Inspirational – the very best of humanity in the very worst of circumstances
Unforgettable – a story untold for over seventy years is finally shared
Life-affirming – one man's determination to survive and live a full life with the woman he loved
Fully verified – Lale Sokolov's background and story has been fact-checked against all available documentary evidence

The Story
The Tattooist of Auschwitz is based on the true story of Lale and Gita Sokolov, two Slovakian Jews who survived Auschwitz. When Lale, given the job of tattooing the prisoners, saw Gita waiting in line, it was love at first sight. In that moment he determined to keep them both alive. This is a story of hope and of courage.


 

 

 

 

 

The Author

Born in New Zealand, Heather Morris lives and works in Melbourne, Australia. In 2003, she met Lale Sokolov, a meeting that changed both their lives. As their friendship grew, he entrusted her with the task of telling the world the innermost details of his life during the Holocaust.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 


 

 

Extras

Reviews, News & Interviews:

Extraordinary - moving, confronting and uplifting . . . a story about the extremes of human behaviour: calculated brutality alongside impulsive and selfless acts of love. I recommend it unreservedly. Graeme Simsion, author of The Rosie Project
What an extraordinary and important book this is. A moving and ultimately uplifting story of love, loyalties and friendship amidst the horrors of war. Jill Mansell
A sincere...moving attempt to speak the unspeakable. The Sunday Times