jonathanball_logo



ecommerce_customers

Subscribe-to-our-newsletter

 


Girl Mans Up


Email

Girl Mans Up
Buy Girl Mans Up here:

Loot

Exclusive Books

Takealot

Raru
Girl Mans Up

M-E Girard


ISBN 9780062404183


Lambda Literary Award Winner Entertainment Weekly Best YA Book of 2016 Children's Book Council Books Best Book of 2016 Kirkus Reviews Best Teen Coming-of-Age Novel of 2016 and Best Teen Book of 2016 with Unforgettable Protagonists Publishers Weekly Fall 2016 Flying Starts William C. Morris YA Debut Award Finalist

All Pen wants is to be the kind of girl she's always been. So why does everyone have a problem with it They think the way she looks and acts means she's trying to be a boy – that she should quit trying to be something she's not. If she dresses like a girl, and does what her folks want, it will show respect. If she takes orders and does what her friend Colby wants, it will show her loyalty.

But respect and loyalty, Pen discovers, are empty words. Old-world parents, disintegrating friendships, and strong feelings for other girls drive Pen to see the truth – that in order to be who she truly wants to be, she'll have to man up.

Now available in paperback, M. E. Girard's Girl Mans Up is perfect for fans of Meredith Russo, Becky Albertalli, Alex Sanchez, and Jaye Robin Brown!

The Author

m.e girardM-E Girard lives just outside Toronto, where she splits her time between writing YA fiction about badass teen girls and working nights as a paediatric nurse. A 2013 and 2015 Lambda Literary Fellow, M-E is a proud feminist who is endlessly fascinated by the good, the bad, and the ugly regarding the concept of gender.

Her debut novel, Girl Mans Up (September 2016, HarperTeen | HarperCollins Canada), was a Lambda Literary Award winner, a William C. Morris YA Debut Award finalist, a finalist of the KOBO Emerging Writer Prize, a recipient of a Kirkus Star, and a White Pine nominee. It was also recognized as best book by The Globe and Mail, CCBC Books, and Kirkus Reviews.

 


 

 

 

Extras

Reviews, News & Interviews:

Pen is an inspiration to anyone who's struggled to be understood, and a vital addition to the growing world of genderqueer protagonists. The New York Times Book Review