jonathanball_logo



ecommerce_customers

Subscribe-to-our-newsletter

 


Love, Africa: A Memoir of Romance, War, and Survival


Email

Love Africa
Buy this book here:

Loot

Exclusive Books

Takealot

Love, Africa: A Memoir of Romance, War, and Survival

Jeffery Gettleman


ISBN 9780062696281


A seasoned war correspondent, Jeffrey Gettleman has covered every major conflict over the past twenty years, from Afghanistan to Iraq to the Congo. For the past decade, he has served as the East Africa Bureau Chief for the New York Times, fulfilling his teenage dream of living in Africa. Love, Africa is the story of how he got there and of his difficult, winding  towards becoming a good reporter and a better man.

At nineteen, Gettleman fell in love, twice. On a community service trip in college, he went to Africa, a terrifying, exciting, dreamlike continent in the throes of change that imprinted itself on his imagination and heart. One day, he vowed, he would return there, to stay. But around the same time he also fell in love with Courtenay, a fellow Cornell student, the brightest, fiercest, kindest woman he’d ever met.

Courtenay became a lawyer in America, and all Gettleman wanted was to be with her. But he also hungered to be in Africa. For the next decade he would waver between these two abiding passions. Finally, after a great deal of growing up, he learned to be honest with himself about what he wanted, a realization that ultimately fulfilled both of his deepest desires.

A beautifully rendered coming-of-age story in the tradition of Barbarian Days, Love, Africa is a tale of passion, professional rivalries, tortuous long-distance relationships, marital strife, forgiveness, parenthood, and happiness that explores the power of finding yourself in the most unexpected of places.

The Author

jeffery gettleman Jeffrey Gettleman, winner of the Pulitzer Prize for International Reporting in 2012, is a foreign correspondent for the New York Times. He currently lives in Nairobi, Kenya.


 

 

 

Extras

Reviews, News & Interviews:

A passionate debut memoir bears witness to political turmoil… A stark, eye-opening, and sometimes horrifying portrait by a reporter enthralled by the ‘power and magic’ of Africa. Kirkus

Jeffrey Gettleman’s memoir is truly, in all its complicated tragic beauty, a love story made up itself of inextricably intertwined love stories. I was mesmerized. Alexandra Fuller

Rarely do you read such beautifully rendered honesty: witness the eyes and heart of Jeffrey transform into a remarkable person and writer for our time. Ishmael Bea