jonathanball logo website trade publisher 2018




I am, I am, I am


I Am I Am I Am
Buy I am, I am, I am here:


Exclusive Books


I am, I am, I am

Maggie O'Farrell

ISBN 9781472240750

A childhood illness she was not expected to survive. A teenage yearning to escape that nearly ended in disaster. A terrifying encounter on a remote path. A mismanaged labour in an understaffed hospital.

This is a memoir with a difference: seventeen encounters with Maggie at different ages, in different locations, reveal to us a whole life in a series of tense, visceral snapshots. It is a book to make you question yourself: what would you do if your life was in danger? How would you react? And what would you stand to lose? I Am, I Am, I Am is a book you will finish newly conscious of your own vulnerability, and determined to make every heartbeat count.

The Author

maggie o farrellMaggie O'Farrell is the author of seven novels, After You'd Gone, My Lover's Lover, The Distance Between Us, which won a Somerset Maugham Award, The Vanishing Act Of Esme Lennox, The Hand That First Held Mine, which won the 2010 Costa Novel Award, Instructions For A Heat wave, which was shortlisted for the 2013 Costa Novel Award, This Must Be The Place and I Am, I Am, I Am. She lives in Edinburgh.






Reviews, News & Interviews:

O'Farrell has a remarkable ability to convey the texture of human emotion with precision. Observer

A rare talent to enthral... It will leave you bereft and wanting more. Sunday Times

A magnificent novel that is perceptive, profound and page-turning in equal measures. There are few things I look forward to like a Maggie O'Farrell novel and she never disappoints. Cathy Rentzenbrink, author of The Last Act of Love

A book that surely confirms her as one of the UK's most assured, accomplished and inventive storytellers. Observer